Our Board of Directors and Leadership

Tom Hudson, President
Executive Director, SC School Improvement Council

Executive Director of the SC School Improvement Council since Fall 2014, Tom joined the SC-SIC staff in 2007 after a 25-year career in communications, public information, media/constituent relations, and news reporting in the public, private, and education sectors. He has gained specialized expertise with SICs and community-school engagement as a school district SIC contact, a local SIC vice-chair and member, and as a former member of SC-SIC’s State Board of Trustees.

Tom also serves as coordinator for the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program (SC-EPFP), a 10-month professional development program for established and emerging community leaders to help them work toward sound education policy and practice in South Carolina. SC-EPFP operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership (IEL) in Washington, DC. A Past President of SC/NSPRA, Tom has won awards and has presented numerous trainings and workshops at professional conferences on the local, state and national levels.

Zelda Waymer
President & Chief Executive Officer, SC Afterschool Alliance

Zelda Waymer is one of the nation’s leading practitioners and advocates for expanded learning in after school and summer learning.

The overall goal of the South Carolina Afterschool Alliance (SCAA) is to establish a statewide network of diverse stakeholders that will guide, support, and enable quality after-school services and policies for all children and youth.

Sherry East
President, The South Carolina Education Association

A high school science teacher, Sherry was elected president of The South Carolina Education Association in 2018. She began her teaching career at South Aiken High School and later moved to Rock Hill where she taught at Rock Hill High School.

Sherry’s leadership roles have included association representative, York County Education Association (YCEA) Treasurer, secretary, vice-president, president, and member of The SCEA Executive Board. Sherry is a strong advocate for smaller class sizes, less testing, support for discipline issues and increased pay — especially for support staff.

Austin Rhodes, Vice President
President, Rhodes Branding

Raised by an educator and inspired by years working in the K-12 space, Austin and his brother decided to launch an agency with a simple goal: to lead schools to change the narrative about education to win the hearts and minds of those in their community.

Their shared upbringing gave them the values that inform their unique approach to business: work hard, stay humble, and appreciate what you have. Rhodes Companies engages with small to medium-sized businesses in the Southeast to foster growth, stability, and community impact. Their approach emphasizes genuine partnerships and tangible results, ensuring businesses not only thrive but also contribute positively to their communities.

Butch Howard
Owner, Choice Point Consulting

Butch spent 38 years managing corporate transmission and distribution training and development for Georgia Power Company. He helped to strategically plan and execute eight key workforce development programs to replace about half of the T&D workforce over a 10-year period. In 2008, he launched ChoicePoint Consulting, which provides employee development, hiring assistance, executive coaching, organizational development, strategic planning and personality assessments for people, teams, and organizations to discover their strengths and to use that information to make better decisions in business and life.

Jim Rex
Retired University President, Former SC Superintendent of Education

As SC Superintendent of Education, Jim championed reforms in accountability and pushed for advances in public school choice and innovation. In addition to replacing the unpopular Palmetto Achievement Test (PACT) with the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS), he also worked with the General Assembly to reform the state’s system of annual school report cards, eliminate burdensome paperwork for teachers, change South Carolina’s student performance targets to bring them into alignment with other states, and create a mandate to review the state’s accountability system every five years.

Prior to his position as SC Superintendent of Education, Rex was an English teacher and football coach in Ohio, the dean of education at Winthrop University, the dean of education at Coastal Carolina University, president of Columbia College, vice president for development and alumni relations and vice president of university advancement at the University of South Carolina. He is also a recipient of the Order of the Palmetto, the highest civilian honor in South Carolina.


Wendy Methvin, Executive Director
Bill Colrus, Director of Communications
Al Estee